top of page

LIFEASMALPAL

Proverbs 31: 8-9

Home: Welcome
Home: Video
Home: Blog2
  • Writer's pictureMallory Finch

Rejuvenate, Reset, and Relax

Over Labor Day weekend, I took a trip with my boyfriend to Pennsylvania. He lives a very small and quiet town. The perfect place to get away. Our main purpose for the trip was attend his town’s “Run for Their Lives” fundraising run. This was a 5k/1 mile run (guess which one I did) in support of a pro-life organization that worked to promote specifically adoptions (I will be doing a blog post about why I am prolife soon.). But that was just a few hours on one day of the weekend so we decided to make a weekend vacation out of it. It was rejuvenating to have a time to reset and relax.


Life for me this summer was incredibly busy. I worked two jobs. One was exhausted and pulled a lot of me emotionally, physically, and spiritually. Plus I had many other commitments throughout the summer. Going into this school year, I was tired from the summer and I was bringing in some of the stress and burdens from my summer into the school year. It’s something we all do if we cannot take some sort of action to signify the difference between seasons in our lives. That’s why when one becomes a Christian, they are encouraged to say the “sinners prayer” and write down the date. Sometimes as humans we need some action to separate us as we head into a new season. We should all make this a habit. I am very glad I did it this weekend. As I write this the day after I came back, I can feel a difference in my attitude. I woke this morning and felt determination to do all of my tasks that the day has before me. I feel rejuvenated.


When people would tell me things like “God rested you should too”. I would roll my eyes. Who has time to rest? How do you even rest? Now that I am older with more responsibilities, I get the importance of rest. Burn out is a real thing. You being burnt out can trickle into other areas of your life. As of now my calling and main purpose is to be a student. I know God has called me to be a student, therefore, my academic life is important and I can’t let burn out get in the way. That’s where resetting comes into play.


We didn’t go to a yoga retreat (though that is something I would like to do in the future), we just got away and did nothing. Relaxing and resetting doesn’t have to be this big thing, it can just be something small. It can be getting up grabbing a book and journal and getting a park. Or just sitting outside. Another thing you can do is sleep. I slept too and mannnnnn getting good sleep affects everything.


If you haven’t taken some sort of break before you have gone into a new season, I would encourage you to do it. I would encourage you to just get away the best way you can. Grab a book and journal and just go somewhere.

Mallory


Make sure you keep up with me:

Personal Instagram: @lifeasmalpal

YouTube Channel: subscribe to my YouTube channel https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC3Zkq-FMmHyVijb7oDQle2w?view_as=subscriber

Jewelry Store: @shopthepinkrose www.shopthepinkrose.com

Travel Blog: @wanderlustingandcarpediem, www.wanderlustingandcarpediem.wordpress.com

12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Home: Subscribe
Home: Instagram
Home: Contact
bottom of page