top of page

LIFEASMALPAL

Proverbs 31: 8-9

Home: Welcome
Home: Video
Home: Blog2
  • Writer's pictureMallory Finch

Evacuation Vacation

So I’m in the midst of my first evacuation! So exciting. Hehe. But seriously this is my first time having to evacuate an area due to the weather. I am from Charlotte, North Carolina where we don’t really get hurricanes. We normally just get heavy rains. Charlotte is not anywhere near the coast so by the time forces of nature get to us it’s calmed down a lot. Virginia Beach not so much.


Here’s just a few factoids about Evacuation Vacation:

-It seemed like no one who had always lived in Virginia Beach was freaking out: My lyft driver did not seemed worried or bothered at all as we were told to evacuate. My school closed from Tuesday to Monday and the only concerned ones where those who were not from the area.


-Our weather people are not perfect: I evacuated to Charlotte and the schools were closed on Thursday and Friday. It’s Friday now and it hasn’t even started raining yet.


-Events like this can be tricky to predict: The news has been projecting when the storm hit and has been off a few times. Also the projection of the intensity has changed over the course of the week.


-No reason to freak: There is no reason to freak out. You can NOT control the weather. You just have to do what’s best for you and your family. But when you start freaking out that’s when you make irrational rash decisions. That helps no one.


-Because we don’t know how it is going to be you should prepare ahead of time: Do what you need to do if that means getting candles, getting flashlights, getting books and magazines for entertainment, or stocking up food and water.


-Teachers don’t care if you have to evacuate: I still have homework due and classwork to make up for missing days. But hey you have to do what you have to do.


So for today I am just waiting for the storm to come but I feel prepared! I got a book The Bride Collector by Ted Dekker (greatest author ever), my school books to take notes on, downloaded a few movies to watch with my family, and yummy (keto friendly healthy) food and snacks.

Stay safe everyone and make smart decisions.

Mallory



4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Home: Subscribe
Home: Instagram
Home: Contact
bottom of page