top of page

LIFEASMALPAL

Proverbs 31: 8-9

Home: Welcome
Home: Video
Home: Blog2
  • Writer's pictureMallory Finch

Back to School Tips

It’s the end of August and what inevitably happens is everyone goes back to school, students from college students all the way down to the pre-K babies.

August/September are a great times to make goals and reevaluate the time left in the year especially for those in school. Every month at the beginning I sit down and write my goals for the month. I also do the same for the beginning of school. I know you have heard the saying “If you fail to plan, you plan to fail.” I believe this full heartedly.


As I am finishing up my last year in graduate school (woo-hoo), I really want to make this year my best year. My mother always told me in everything, finish strong. That’s my goal. This is the last year of my academic career so I want to do 100% my best. There are a few things I think are incredibly important for a successful semester.


Tips for the semester:

1. Work to not just get the A (which I am going to do), but actually learn.

· A lot of times we get put into classes and we just focus on the grade. I know I did that in the past. This year, especially with the classes I am taking, I know the things I will be taught will beneficial to my future career. When you start thinking career focus, you realize the importance of what your actually learning in these classes.


2. Stay in communion with God

· This can be difficult. It’s difficult for many reasons. 1. Life gets busy. You have class, work, extra curriculars, social obligations, ect so you may not feel as if you have time for your devotional, but you need to make time. It doesn’t have to be 3 hours of praying in your room, it can even be 15 minutes focusing. Your relationship with God will be the most important relationship you have and focusing on that at the beginning of the day can really dictate the rest of your day.


3. A planner is a necessity:

· I think organization is incredibly important when balancing a school and work schedule. Every year I get a planner just keep on track of important dates. I like to write my assignments in them, but with syllabus sometimes it feels unnecessary. If you don’t use your planner for anything, you must use it to record important dates: big papers, midterms, and finals.


4. Make an effort to your health:

· One of my biggest regrets is that when I started my university experience I did not care. I didn’t exercise or even pay attention to what I ate and even today at 24 I am still paying for it. At the very least you should try to walk for about an hour 4 times a week. I would take advantage of the free membership your college has or the discount your college has. Watch what you eat. I’m not saying put yourself on strict diet, but don’t eat fries and pizza everyday. Most importantly: Drink water. Drink water. Drink water.


5. Balance your social life

· I am a social person and I get FOMO very easily. My friends can just happen to run into each other at target and post a picture and I can be like “dang, that must of have been fun.” Sometimes I even give up sleep to hang out and that’s just not good. You should enjoy your friends and spend time with them, but prioritize. When you have conflicts with sleep, education, or socialization, you should decide what is more important to you.


6. Network

· Your grades are incredibly important especially if you are looking to eventually get to a higher degree your grades MATTER. Do not think a med school will except a straight C student (if you show improvement anything is possible). Another incredibly important thing you need to do for your future is network. Almost all jobs are gotten through networking. Much of the business world about who you know.


7. Have an outlet

· Honestly this is my outlet. And for those that don’t know, I have a jewelry store (www.shopthepinkrose.com) and that I relaxing and an outlet for me. Decide what makes you super happy and make time for it. Designate time in your calendar.


Go forth and do your best. This will be both of our best semesters. Remember everyone is on their personal timeline. If you don’t finish at the same time as someone else it does NOT matter. All that matters is that you finish. I’m praying for all of y’all. Love y’all

Mallory



Make sure you keep up with me:

Personal Instagram: @lifeasmalpal

YouTube Channel: subscribe to my YouTube channel https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC3Zkq-FMmHyVijb7oDQle2w?view_as=subscriber

Jewelry Store: @shopthepinkrose www.shopthepinkrose.com

Travel Blog: @wanderlustingandcarpediem, www.wanderlustingandcarpediem.wordpress.com


29 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Home: Subscribe
Home: Instagram
Home: Contact
bottom of page